Media Center



Live from the Slovenian Philharmonic Hall, Slovenian Chamber Choir, Kaspars Putnins - conductor
Olivier Messiaen: Quatuor pour la fin du temps
V. Louange à l'Éternité de Jésus

Olivier Messiaen: Quartet for the End of Time
V. Praise to the eternity of Jesus

Adam Żukiewicz, piano
Gal Faganel, cello

Premiered in 1941, the piece is scored for clarinet (in B-flat), violin, cello, and piano; a typical performance of the complete work lasts about 50 minutes. Messiaen wrote the piece while a prisoner of war in German captivity and it was first performed by his fellow prisoners. It has come to be recognized as one of his most important works.

The music for this movement is arranged from an earlier composition, "IV. L'Eau" from "Fête des belles eaux" for 6 Ondes Martenots, performed at the Paris International Exposition of 1937. The tempo marking is infiniment lent, extatique ("infinitely slow, ecstatic").

Colorado PIano Trio
Jubal Fulks, violin
Adam Żukiewicz, piano
Gal Faganel, cello

with Lauren Jacobson, clarinet
Gal Faganel - cello, Caleb Harris - piano

Kristalni abonma, Sokolski dom, Skofja Loka, Slovenia
Gal Faganel, cello
Caleb Harris, piano


Live from Stanovska Hall, Ljubljana Castle, Slovenia.

Gal Faganel, cello
Calbe Harris, piano
Francis Poulenc: Trio for Oboe, Bassoon and Piano, FP 43
I. Presto
II. Andante
III. Rondo

Adam Żukiewicz, piano
Jubal Fluks, violin
Gal Faganel, cello

BYU Madsen Recital Hall